Saturday, 30 April 2011


Kumarasami Kamaraj (Tamil: குமாரசாமி காமராஜ்) better known as K. Kamaraj (15 July 1903 – 2 October 1975) was an Indian politician from Tamil Nadu widely acknowledged as the "Kingmaker" in Indian politics during the 1960s. He was the chief minister of Tamil Nadu during 1954-1963 and a Member of Parliament during 1952-1954 and 1969-1975. He was known for his simplicity and integrity.

He was involved in the Indian independence movement. As a high ranking office bearer of the Indian National Congress, he was instrumental in bringing to power two Prime Ministers, Lal Bahadur Shastri in 1964 and Indira Gandhi in 1966. In Tamil Nadu, his home state, he is still remembered for bringing school education to millions of the rural poor by introducing free education and the free Mid-day Meal Scheme during his tenure as chief minister. He was awarded India's highest civilian honour, the Bharat Ratna, posthumously in 1976. The domestic terminal of the Chennai airport is named "Kamaraj Terminal" in his honour and the Madurai Kamaraj University has been renamed after him
K. Kamaraj

Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) for Nagercoil
In office
Preceded by A. Nesamony
Succeeded by Kumari Ananthan
Constituency Nagercoil

Member of Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly for Sattur
In office
Preceded by S. Ramaswamy Naidu
Succeeded by S. Ramaswamy Naidu
Constituency Sattur

Member of Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly for Gudiyatham
In office
Preceded by Rathnaswamy and A. J. Arunachala Mudaliar
Succeeded by V. K. Kothandaraman and T. Manavalan
Constituency Gudiyatham

Chief Minister of the Madras State (Tamil Nadu)
In office
Preceded by C. Rajagopalachari
Succeeded by M. Bhakthavatsalam

Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) for Srivilliputhur
In office
Preceded by None
Succeeded by S. S. Natarajan
Constituency Srivilliputhur

President of the Indian National Congress (Organisation)
In office
Preceded by None
Succeeded by Morarji Desai

President of the Indian National Congress
In office
Preceded by Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
Succeeded by S. Nijalingappa

President of the Madras Provincial Congress Committee
In office
Succeeded by P. Subbarayan

Born 15 July 1903(1903-07-15)
Virudhunagar, Tamil Nadu, India
Died 2 October 1975(1975-10-02)
Chennai , Tamil Nadu, India
Nationality Indian
Spouse(s) NIL
Children NIL
Religion Hindu
File:Statue of Kamarajar.jpg

1 comment:

  1. This comment has been removed by the author.